My Life as a Learner; it’s not always easy

Drive and self motivation are hard things to learn. I am not naturally great at school, in order to do well, I have to try really hard. I have to study a lot to do well on tests, it takes me a while to finish my homework.. but I have learned that I can do it if I try.

I have had my share of both success and failure. Up until these last two years in college I chronically turned my work in late, and waited until the last minute to do it. No excuse as to why I did, I just didn’t have the motivation. I think maybe a lot of my problem was that if I wasn’t very interested in what I was doing, I didn’t care to do it.

These last couple years in college have been a lot better for me. I have turned my assignments in on time and I have actually put a lot of effort into my work. My first year of college wasn’t quite the same way, though. I let the fun get the best of me. My first year of college may have been my favorite year yet, my classes were all general so the work was fairly easy. I would literally start an assignment an hour before it was do. I had a lot of fun and didn’t do a lot of work. I think my freshman and sophomore year of college I learned the most about the way I learn.

One thing in particular that was the biggest thing that I learned was who you surround yourself with really does effect you. My first year I was friends with people that weren’t there for school, they were there to have a good time. We stayed up late and slept in late and skipped class more than we should have. The next year most of those friends ended up dropping out of school, so I hung out with a better crowd and it was amazing the difference it made. I was way more responsible, got much better grades, and I still made time to have fun.

Another big learning experience for me was getting a job while also being a full time student. I don’t have all day to do my homework now, I work 8 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday, I have to stay up late in order to do well. It has made me a lot more responsible.

In high school I did a lot of sports, and in order to compete and travel with the team we had to have all of our assignments turned in and we had to be eligible. That definitely kept me motivated to stay on top of my work because I wasn’t going to miss any of my track meets.

I remember the first time I was really proud of my schoolwork. I was in 5th grade and I don’t remember the exact assignment, but I made a big poster about Mesa Verde. I stayed up all night finishing it and making it perfect and I was very excited to receive a high grade on that assignment.

All together, I have grown a lot as a learner. I have learned to procrastinate less, I’ve gotten better at turning my assignments in on time, I surround myself with people that influence me positively, and I’ve gained a lot of responsibility. I am excited to be able to share my successes and failures with my future students, and guide them the way all of my past teachers have guided me.

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. I grew up in a town not far from you.. Lovell, Wyoming! But I get what you’re saying about the transition into college, and turning in your assignments and just having that motivation to do so. Sports in high school were a good initiative to do well in school, and kept you going. Also, I went to Sheridan College too, and then I came here! So that’s a coincidence. It’s crazy to see what all our experiences develop us into today. Great post β™₯

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      That’s crazy that you’re from Lovell! I also can’t believe that you went to Sheridan! That first year transitioning can be hard, but it just takes a little bit of getting used to. Do you like it in Chadron?? I’ve heard it’s a tiny little town. Thanks for the kind words ❀

      Like

      1. Mercedes says:

        It is pretty small here! But I guess it is what you make it. I don’t have a problem with it much coming from an even smaller town.

        Like

  2. I relate to your procrastination struggles. I still procrastinate a lot of my work and make plenty of excuses as to why I couldn’t do it on time, which is something I need to get better at too. I also work better under the pressure of a deadline and use that as an excuse as well.

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      I still procrastinate quite a bit too, although I’m trying to correct that bad habit. It seems like we relate quite a bit about our work habits haha! I guess it’s something we could probably work on πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. freemind48 says:

    I love reading stories like this, it makes me think about how teachers with real struggles and ways to overcome those struggles make the greatest teachers. I remember for me there were subjects I could and would love to do my homework in, and then there were those that I would wait till the passing period before to finish, because I was that crummy at it it wouldn’t matter anyhow is what I would tell myself. I think it is important to give assignments that are engaging enough that kids want to be proud of their work, and stay up all night working on even though it has been done for days.

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      I totally agree with you, teachers that overcome obstacles make great teachers! It’s hard to stay motivated when you’re assigned to do work that you just don’t love to do. Kids that are engaged in their assignments actually get more out of them too!

      Like

      1. freemind48 says:

        I agree, and sometimes it only takes one kid to show how excited he or she is about the activity, and it becomes contagious. We need a big bag of tricks and tools to keep them interested and I am still filling mine.

        Like

  4. It is crazy how we find other people that went through the same problems as yourself but then realize and think “where we you when I was struggling too?” I always put things to the last minute and most of the time I forget and pay for procrastinating. However at times I have a pep talk with myself and say “Okay Myesha you need to do this and that right now. Just get it done and you will be fine, or be lazy and suffer.” My freshman year was the best, I was always out, I knew all the parties and people but my grades dropped and I was put on academic probation. I didn’t want to get kicked out so I changed and became better! Motivation is really the key! Way to turn things around!

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! It is crazy to find out that many people struggle with the same things you do! Motivation really is key, and it is something that I could always work on. I’m glad you turned things around too! Seems like you’re doing well now πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. 2shaye says:

    It’s wonderful that you’ve already learned these lessons at this point in your life. Time-management and procrastination still rear their ugly heads even years after college. Eek! Without a list or calendar, I’m completely lost. Glad to hear these lessons are so evident, already. Thanks for sharing your learning from these struggles!

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      I’m still working on time-management, but it is getting much easier for me. Calendars have become my best friend lately!!

      Like

  6. Brayla says:

    Awesome! Your post is truly amazing and I’m so glad that you’re doing much better! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks, Brayla! I’m glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. breahnnathompson says:

    I’ll start by saying, Your blog is adorable! Have you used a blog before? It looks like you’re seasoned!(:
    Also, I can totally understand your battles with procrastination. I , too, have had to learn the hard way on multiple occasions that when you start an assignment at 11 when it’s due at 12 you may or may not make your deadline. I think it is awesome that you have allowed your experiences to act as lessons, and that you have improved on your vices!
    Good going(:

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      Yay! Thank you πŸ™‚ I’m glad it looks decent, I’ve never used a blog before and I was worried it didn’t look up to par. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one that struggled with procrastination. Thanks for the kind words!

      Like

Leave a Reply

