TED Talk: How to Spot a Liar

I watched the TED Talk called “How to Spot a Liar”. I really enjoyed watching this video. I decided to watch this particular video because I thought it would be very interesting! I mean, who doesn’t know someone who lies?? I could personally probably name several people who lie constantly, and they probably don’t even realize that they do.

This video was really neat. I am a very trusting person, and usually believe what people tell me, so it was interesting to see when people may be not telling the truth. I wanted to watch many of the other videos too, they looked interesting. The most interesting part of the video for me was when she showed the two videos of the moms talking about their children dying. You could definitely see the difference in the mom that killed her children, and the mom that was devastated about someone killing her kids.

The mother that killed her children had a very blank look in her face for the whole interview. She would also randomly smile during the interview and had a few small indicators that she was not telling the truth. The other woman that was interviewed was obviously telling the truth. I could tell that she was very upset about her children’s death. She was crying and talking about her daughters beautiful brown eyes. I felt very remorseful towards her, but not the other mother in the interview.

I think that knowing how to be able to tell if someone is lying or not would come in handy as a future teacher. A lot of students might tell white lies about certain things, and as a teacher it would be nice to know who is telling the truth. It would also be nice to know when not only students, but when co workers, parents, and other people aren’t telling the truth.

It  was amazing to me the statistics of people who don’t tell the truth. I feel like I try to be honest a very honest person, and I can’t believe that people lie as often as they do. One of my past boyfriends literally lied about every thing that he ever told me, and it made me realize how dishonest people are. Once you are around someone who is that dishonest, it makes you question ever thing everyone tells you. I have now surrounded my self with honest (At least I think they’re honest) people, which I am very thankful for.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Mercedes says:

    I really liked this article you chose. It had a lot of truth in it, and I wish I could make a lot people read this. I do not like liars, and I agree with you completely on that. Once someone has lied to you, I feel like it’s always a question to whether they are telling the truth or not. I grew up with a couple of girls from my school, who were compulsive liars. It was crazy how much and how stupid of things they would lie about. Half the time I felt like they didn’t even know they were lying anymore, they just were so used to not telling the truth so that is what they did.

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      It really does have a lot of truth to it! I agree with you 100%. People lie about the dumbest things that could be avoided.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mercedes says:

        Sadly, we will always have those kind of people around for the rest of our lives.

        Like

  2. 2shaye says:

    I understand why children sometimes lie–particularly when they’re scared of getting in trouble or scared of losing a friend. But I cannot imagine living an adult life filled with lies. In the past, when I’ve said something even remotely dishonest (a partial truth), it made me feel sick. Sadly, some people even believe their own lies… in those cases, it’s difficult to figure out the deception. I would put honesty right up there at the top of my list for qualities I look for in my closest friends. Without honesty, there’s absolutely no trust.

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      Yes, I can see why some children lie, too. I am such an honest person, I also feel sick when I even tell a white lie. It’s terrible that some people are so used to not telling the truth.

      Like

Leave a Reply

