Hey good lookin’, whatcha got cookin’? Week 1

I’ve had SO much fun this week with my independent-learning project. I’ve learned quite a bit so far, and it’s only been the first week doing it! I’ve made a couple great meals.

It was a very busy week for me, I would have liked to cook every night… but unfortunately I wasn’t able to. I worked my job at The Foot Care Center Monday through Friday 8am to 5pm, and for some reason I picked up THREE shifts at my waitressing job. Ugh. Also, Monday and Wednesday I have night class. SO, I think I’m pretty lucky to have cooked two yummy meals. Okay, enough complaining about my busy schedule! I’m going to tell you about my meals now!! πŸ™‚

For my first real meal for this project, I tried to keep it pretty simple. I made a spaghetti, basically. The first thing I did was boil the water, and I cooked the penne noodles. Then, I browned the Italian sausage. I LOVE Italian sausage by the way. Once the sausage was fully cooked, I poured the sauce in with it to heat it up! I use vodka sauce, it is kind of like a creamy red sauce, it’s delicious. I stirred the sauce and the meat in with the noodles, and I was done! It was quick, easy, and so yummy. I ate that and had a little bit of red wine and called it a night! It was a perfect dinner to a busy day.

20160125_185537

The second meal I made this week took a little more work! But, it was so worth it. My boyfriend and I made a steak dinner together. We had steak, mashed potatoes, and salad. First, I peeled the potatoes, cut them up, and boiled them in water for about 15 minutes. While I was doing that, Elias (my boyfriend), seasoned the steak and got it ready. Once the potatoes were almost finished, we got the steak out and broiled it in the oven for 2:30 minutes. After that, we took it out, flipped it, and put it back in for 3 minutes. This way of cooking it is pretty quick and easy since it’s hard to grill outside this time of year in Wyoming! πŸ˜‰ After that, we took it out and just let it sit and rest for 10 minutes to let it cook a little more. While it was resting, we put a bunch of butter and milk in with the potatoes, then mashed them up. You can’t put too much butter in potatoes! After that we just made a quick salad, and served up! It was delicious! You’re gonna get hungry just looking at the picture. πŸ™‚

20160127_193223

Sorry about the bad quality pictures, I’m not a photographer. πŸ˜‰

10 Comments Add yours

  1. brycenicole says:

    I think that all of your food looks delicious! I think that before when you said you were not a good cook that you were lying because it looks like you have had quite a bit of good luck! I’m excited to see what you come up with in the future!

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      haha! I’ve cooked a little bit here and there but not a lot.

      Like

  2. Alyssa says:

    Hannah,
    It looks great! I love cooking, and it’s always fun to learn how to cook new things. Is there something you’re looking forward to attempting in the future? Also, I don’t know if you know this (I feel like a lot of people don’t) but whenever you cook pasta, add salt and olive oil to the water (2-3 tablespoons of salt and 3-5 tablespoons of EVOO) before you boil it. This softens the pasta, makes the water boil quick, and prevents things from boiling over. It really makes a difference in the pasta, in my opinion! Lots of luck to you,
    Alyssa

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      Wow good advice! I haven’t done that before. Thanks!

      Like

  3. Mercedes says:

    All of your food looks amazing! I absolutely love cooking. I can’t wait to own my own house or rent and be able to make dinner every night. Which I’m sure it will get old eventually. But, everything is looking great! I think that you are doing a great job so far! Can’t wait to see more!

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      Cooking is so fun! Having a kitchen to yourself really makes a difference.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mercedes says:

        Yes it is! I can’t wait.

        Like

  4. 2shaye says:

    It looks wonderful and you’re learning constantly with this project. Photographer or not, it looks GREAT. I love Italian sausage, too. But I have to say that I don’t think I’ve ever used it in spaghetti. Sounds delicious!

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      You should definitely try it in your spaghetti next time! It’s great! I have learned a lot already!

      Like

Leave a Reply

