Hey Good Lookin’, Whatcha Got Cookin’? Week 2

So, this week I may have slacked a little bit. Oops. I didn’t cook as much as I would have liked, but I read a lot of interesting things, and I got to cook a little bit here and there! πŸ™‚

Unfortunately, I didn’t cook any BIG dinners of any sort this week. I did eat lots of good food though, I mean it was the super bowl weekend! The couple meals I did make this week were quick and easy. I made burritos with my boyfriend one night, we made sandwiches one night. The other nights I either ate at work, or at a friends house.

My friend, Morgan, made a group of us a really awesome dinner on Saturday night! She made a pasta with creamy red sauce, and these amazing baked green beans! I honestly didn’t even realize you could bake green beans!

Today, while watching the super bowl I got the pleasure of eating prime rib! Oh my gosh, who doesn’t love prime rib!?!? I was so excited when the restaurant I work at said they were having a super bowl party. What is yummier (is that a word??) than prime rib, mashed potatoes, and beer while you’re watching your Broncos win? I didn’t help cook any of the food, but I know how much work goes into making it!

My family had prime rib for Christmas dinner, and it cooked for about three or four hours, I believe. It took a while to get it prepped up, and then baked all day! I was so thankful that they made it for all of us.

Not only did I eat a lot of good food this week, I read up on some interesting information about cooking!

  1. Did you know that if you put a damp paper towel or rag underneath your cutting board, it prevents it from slipping or wobbling?
  2. You can caramelize onions very quickly by adding a little bit of baking soda!
  3. You can use an apple slicer to cut potatoes into perfect chunks
  4. Don’t use oil it the water when you cook pasta! It will prevent the sauce from sticking to it when it’s done
  5. Take your shoes off, turn the music on, and have your favorite drink in hand! Enjoy what you’re doing in the kitchen!

Cooking should be a fun time, not a chore! Cook what you enjoy eating, and make the most of it. πŸ™‚

5 Comments Add yours

  1. 2shaye says:

    That’s so good to know about the oil and pasta. I had always been told to add olive oil to my water. I also like adding butter to my pasta after it’s been cooked, for taste. Yummo! And I’m totally going to start putting on my favorite music when I cook. I cook for an army (especially when the kiddos have their friends over), so it leaves me in the kitchen for pretty long periods of time. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      I love butter! It’s yummy added to anything! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. I believe that tip number 5 seems very familiar for me! I have the choice to eat Prime Rib almost every day at my job and it is good wood fire grilled! I used to cook for my family all of the time so I really have to be in a mood to cook a lot

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      I bet you do! Yum, that prime rib sounds delicious.

      Like

      1. Come on out to Whiskey Creek sometime if you ever find yourself in North Platte.

        Like

Leave a Reply

