Passion-Based Learning

One of the articles I read mentioned that when teachers show passion in what they are teaching, the students want to be passionate about that subject also. I definitely agree with this! When a teacher shows that they really care about the certain subject, and you can tell that they really care about it, it makes me want to know so much more about it.

I absolutely love hearing people talk about things they’re passionate about. It opens them up, and it’s something that literally makes them light up when they’re talking about it. When they love what they’re telling me, I ask them many questions to find out more!

I wish that passion-based learning was part of my learning a bit more. I feel like growing up, I was always told what I need to learn and what classes to take. I think that impacted me a little big now. Now, I have a hard time knowing what exactly my passions are, since I was always told what they should be. I have always been told what to do, and now when I’m given the option to choose for myself, I am usually at a total loss. I don’t know how to do assignments without a rubric, I don’t know how to figure new things out without instructions, I feel like I need constant guidance. I am terrible with making decisions.

After reading about passion-based learning, I think it is a MUST in my future classroom. I don’t want my students to not know what their passions are. I want each and every one of them to love something so much that they want to learn more about it. I am going to have time set aside for them to work on projects that help them integrate their passions into what the curriculum mandates.

I am so happy that we are learning about this, since I don’t think I ever really had the opportunity to. Not only will we get to celebrate our students passions, each of our students will get to celebrate our passions. Passion is contagious, if we enjoy what we are teaching, our students will WANT to learn and they will WANT to try as hard as they can. I hope that we get more opportunities to do things that we are passionate about in the future. ๐Ÿ™‚

Great website ๐Ÿ™‚

I loved this one too!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Alyssa says:

    Hannah,
    I definitely relate to what you’re saying about not learning how to do your own thing in the classroom. I think a lot of us are at a loss of what to do and how to do it, now that we’re on our own. It’s not that we’ve been coddled (as much as the older, cynical generation would like you to believe) but rather that we haven’t been allowed or taught to do things our own way and to be independent and creative. Definitely something to keep in mind when you’re teaching.

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      I agree with you! We haven’t been given a chance to show what we know, and what we can do!

      Like

  2. 2shaye says:

    I completely agree with you and Alyssa. When you’re never allowed that independence to stop and think about what YOU are interested in learning about, then it’s hard to suddenly know what you want to do when you’re given that freedom as an adult. We’ve been working to live up to someone else’s expectations for so long, so it’s difficult to change gears. I think that’s one of the reasons why so many people were WOW’ed by Logan LaPlante during the first week of class. Who actually gets that kind of liberty and knows how to take advantage of it? One day, when you’re in your classroom, and you have 6 detailed objective-filled lessons to meet curricular standards that all must fit neatly into 45 minute-segments that every child can understand, I really do hope you will seek out way to provide more passion-seeking freedom. Children truly respond to teachers who are interested in their lives. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      That is definitely one of the reasons Logan LaPlante’s video was so amazing to me! I have a lot more learning to do! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

