Hey Good Lookin’, Whatcha Got Cookin’? Week 3

My boyfriend, Elias, goes through little spurts where he decides that he wants to be healthy. He recently applied for a job at a detentions office, so in order to do that he has to be in shape. So, he has been eating healthy, working out, you know.. the whole shebang.

This past week Elias prepped his meals for the whole week. I helped too πŸ™‚ Last Sunday we made enough chicken for him to eat all week for lunch, with the chicken we made cooked broccoli, and quinoa. (For those of you who aren’t familiar with quinoa, it is an edible seed of a plantΒ and can be used much like rice.) So, we made six dishes of chicken marinaded in a buffalo sauce, cooked broccoli, and quinoa for his lunch. For his breakfast, we made little muffin pans with eggs, red and green peppers, and onion. We put those ingredients into the muffin pan, baked it, and made little egg muffin type things. For his dinner most of the week, he made salad with tilapia on it. I’m not a seafood person, so most nights I did my own thing for dinner.

One night this week, I made some delicious chicken for dinner. I first put some honey mustard and butter together, dipped the chicken in that, then rolled in in some bread crumbs. I baked it until it was fully cooked and it was delicious! I just ate that with some salad.

Since today is Valentine’s Day, Elias and I went out to dinner! It was amazing. Both of us got steaks and garlic mashed potatoes. When we came home we made some no-bake cookies. Which are very yummy!

Cooking with Elias is a lot of fun, but also difficult once in a while. I have to be patient. Him and I grew up learning to cook differently, so we sometimes get frustrated with how the other one does certain things. I think that being patient with him, and any one else really, is very beneficial for me. It will help me become a better teacher. I have to be patient with all of my future students, student’s parents, coworkers, and administrators. If cooking can help me gain a little bit of patience, I should probably stick with it! πŸ˜‰ haha.

So far I am really liking this project, though. I have learned a lot so far and can’t wait to see all I’ve learned by the end!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Mercedes says:

    That chicken dunked in honey mustard sounds delicious! Also, I get what you mean completely. I grew up with a Mexican family, and my boyfriend grew up with an Italian family. Therefore, we cook very different as well! You really do have to be patient, and I think after three years, I have become very patient. He is still working on it πŸ˜‰ Can’t wait to see what you do this week!

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      Yes, everyone has different ideas on what to do and how to do it! I bet you two make some delicious food together!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mercedes says:

        Yes! Half the time it is just me and he keeps me company πŸ˜‰ oh well.

        Like

  2. 2shaye says:

    The requirements of Elias’s job might turn out to be a really great thing for your meal planning! Cooking at the start of the week is an excellent way to prepare for healthy eating all week long. Everything sounds delicious! I really like making no-bake cookies for the kiddos. I usually have to heat them on the stove top a few minutes and then just let them cool before eating… I’m thinking specifically of the popular cocoa, peanut butter, and oatmeal cookies that my children love so much. Yummo! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      I think so too! It seems to be working well, so far. No-bake cookies are one of the first things I remember making with my mom. The kind you’re explaining is what we usually make! So yummy πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. breahnnathompson says:

    I think it’s awesome that he cooked with you(:
    I think cooking is one of the best team building exercises out there! It takes patience and communication to work well together in the kitchen! I’ve always wanted to have the motivation to meal prep! How long would you say it took you to get all his meals ready for the week?

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      He loves cooking, so it makes it easy and fun! It does help us communicate well! To get ready for a whole week it usually takes an hour or two, so not too much time!

      Like

      1. breahnnathompson says:

        What a sweet guy! I may have to try meal prep this coming week!

        Like

      2. Hannah says:

        He is pretty great! πŸ™‚ It works well!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. irenehughes says:

    I loved when my husband was alive that he loved to cook and or cook together. I do miss it.

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      I bet you do miss it! What were his favorite dishes?

      Like

Leave a Reply

