Hey Good Lookin’, Whatcha Got Cookin’? Week 7

on

Hi guys! 🙂

Even though I haven’t been able to be on here blogging about what I’ve been cooking and doing the last couple of weeks, I have still been busy learning new things and creating delicious foods.

My boyfriend, Elias, is still on the health food and workout kick. So, that means I am too (not the workout part, though). Which is a good thing.. I keep telling myself that, at least. Being healthy is good! So at my house we have been eating really well for the most part. I don’t follow the rules 100% of the time.

Here are 10 awesome tips to help you cook a little bit healthier!

  1. Use Smart Fats

Using olive oil instead of butter is a great option! Olive oil is an unsaturated fat, so much healthier than butter.

2.  Go Unrefined

Using whole grains instead of refined grains is the way to go, use things such as brown rice!

3.  Eat More Fruits and Veggies

I don’t think I need to expand on that 🙂

4. It’s Not All About Meat

Meat is a big source of protein, but it can also have a lot of saturated fat. A small serving of poultry or fish is sufficient along with a big serving of veggies.

5. Low-Fat Dairy!

Dairy is an awesome source of calcium, but choosing low-fat milk instead of whole milk can make a huge difference.

6.  Reasonable Portions!

Portion sizes help with taking in the right amount of calories.

7.  Sweeteners

Even natural sweeteners, such as honey, add calories without having any nutritious value.

8.  Sodium

High intakes of salt can lead to high blood pressure, and other problems!

9.  Enhance Flavor

When your food has great flavor, you don’t even realize you’re going healthy! Add things such as herbs, spices, and citrus to help.

10. Be Mindful

We all know how easy it is to grab a snack when we’re running out of time, but making a conscious decision to make yourself a snack, or to pick a banana over a muffin, is a great start.

 

I really like those tips! They are easy, and definitely help. Cooking for this class has really given me insight on how fun it can be. It is just as easy to eat healthier than it is to not. So why not choose the healthy route??

In my next post I’ll tell you guys some of the awesome dishes Elias and I have been cooking up! 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. bakbjl2016 says:

    I love cooking with olive oil. I try to do it every time. I am glad you are having such a fun time cooking/eating healthy. I personally get enjoyment out of the fact that you can make some really colorful plates with your healthy creations.

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      yes, some plates are gorgeous! It makes it hard to want to eat them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

