Digital Activism

What a neat topic for this week! I had a lot of fun reading this weeks articles. I never knew there was so much to know and learn about Digital Activism.

When you think of activism, you usually think of protests or petitions.. something along those lines. At least, that’s what I usually think of when I hear activist. For some reason I’ve always had a bad connotation with that word. I can’t tell you why, maybe just because I feel like petitioning or rioting usually doesn’t get the point across that you’re trying to. But the more I read about it, it left less of a bad taste in my mouth.

Activism in general isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it can get your point across.. and it doesn’t have to be through rioting or making a big deal. It is just people standing up for what they believe is right! Usually people become activists to help other people that they feel passionate about.

People of older generations usually look down on technology. They don’t understand it. They are stuck in their old ways, and think if things aren’t broken, then they shouldn’t be messed with. I work at a Podiatrist office, and the majority of the patients that come in are elderly. They absolutely HATE technology, and I just don’t think they realize how much good it can do.. and how much of a part of our future it is. These days, everything is online. So many opportunities are available at the touch of a button, and that includes being passionate about your interests.

Digital activism is a great thing. It let’s people of any age, and people from anywhere, communicate and help each other out. You can find an online site about anything you’re interested in. Also, if you’re passionate about something, technology allows you to spread your wisdom. I think using it in the classroom is such a great idea, one of the blogs I read was about a teacher who’s class blogged about healthy eating options, it sounded so great. Check it out!

I think that getting children interested in something so important is a good thing! They can research what they don’t know, and also express what they do know. It is good for kids to see that they are actually making a difference in the world when they are trying to be helpful.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Brayla says:

    You’re right! Kids interested in something can research, and express online! Internet is just so important to so many people.

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      It is very important!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mercedes says:

    I think that is what some people forget is getting your point across doesn’t mean you have to do it in an idiotic or mean way. It can be a good thing, it is just how you choose to put it out there. Great post! Hope you had a great Easter!

    Like

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks! I agree completely. I hope your Easter was good too 🙂

      Like

      1. Mercedes says:

        Thank you, it was.

        Like

Leave a Reply

